Book Haul {September}

snapchat-635778061

 

 

OK Yes, I know its like 10 days till Halloween. So why release a book haul post about September? Well for one I couldn’t blog in September and two, there are still 10 days to add more books to my October Book Haul.

 

 

To Start the Haul off I added The Selection Series to my shelf.

snapchat-12995568

Yes, It’s only the first 3 plus companion novel. I haven’t grabbed or really even wanted to read the next 2 in the series {The Heir & The Crown}

The Selection Series by Kiera Cass in my opinion takes place in a sort of dystopian society where everyone is ruled by what number in society they are. Kind of reminded me of the factions in Hunger Games. Well since the prince has come of age to take a wife a lottery of sorts is created and in a bachelor style contest 35 girls are put up against one another for a chance to become the next queen. But America the main character’s heart quickly becomes torn between the Prince and her teenage sweetheart. So far I have read the first two books {The Selection & The Elite} I promise though I will do a review of the whole series, not the last two because they revolve around a new main character, after I finally read The One.

snapchat-1206634914

Next is A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. I know yall are probably saying. “Where have you been?!?” It’s been out forever and your just now picking it up.  Yes!! I have had it on my, The cover looks cool but I don’t know if it’s something I’ll even like.  I don’t read much fantasy at all, I’m a paranormal, historical, and just plain old not fantasy reader but I finally bit the bullet and said… ok..ok. Ill try it, I need to grow as a reader anyway. So from what I can determine from the synopsis it revolves around a huntress who kills a wolf and has to be reprimanded by an ancient being. Who of which she ends up getting feelings for and then something about saving his kingdom. Ok to be honest it’s Beauty and the Beastish to me which is the only reason I’m going to try it on for size.

 

snapchat-1947699918

Next up is Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. Yep another one of the where have you been woman!! I’m not a fantasy reader!! Ok!! But I loved the cover and the overall synopsis. It’s another world divided in a unique way. In this casting system it’s all about the blood. Red or Silver that is.  Overall a young girl who is of the lower cast has the abilities of the upper which leads to chaos in the casting system, and betrayal… yeah not sure. Only gonna give it a shot.

 

 

 

snapchat-2091548423

Next is Deep Blue Book One in the Waterfire saga by Jennifer Donnelly. It’s one of those books I have went by a hundred times because the cover drew me in and I love mermaids but just was like, nah maybe later. Well later finally came. Not only is it about mermaids but mermaids that are all different because of the different seas that they live in. In this one the main mermaid has to catch an assassins master and bring about a huge plot of deception all while dealing with love and discovering a sisterhood with the other seas. It plain old sounds awesome!

 

 

snapchat-1896783744

Next The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury. It’s a fairytale retelling which I freaking love!! This one of course is Aladdin. This time though it’s what if the genie fell for Aladdin. Well of course the genie isn’t the Robin Williams version we all love but a powerful and beautiful jinn. It’s high up on my to be read list so will post a review as soon as I read it.

 

 

 

 

snapchat-1583869327

 

Last but not least The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead. First off I LOVE Richelle Mead novels. My all time favorite being Vampire Academy so I just had to pre-order this one and it finally came in. It revolves around a highborn young woman who goes to the court to “learn” how to be a proper lady, but with her own agenda. She doesn’t need to go but needs to escape a betrothal and ends up liking the instructor at the court but he cant find out she is of the upper crust society. It has a selection kind of feel but I know once I get into it Ill learn so much more. Can’t wait!!

 

 

snapchat-1953812804

So that’s my September book haul, thanks for hanging in here with my ranting. Have you read any of these? Would love to hear what you thought!! Talk to yall soon.

Leave a Reply

