Unpopular Opinions {Book Tag}

untitled

Yep, I’m gonna….im gonna do it. The UNPOPULAR OPINIONS BOOK TAG!!! Now this being said these are my opinions and my opinions only. I respect all your opinions, so please be kind and respect mine. Also I would love to talk to any of you about yours or mine so please leave a comment below. So let’s get face palming lmao

A book or popular series you didn’t like?  Get your pitchforks and blazing torches ready…. Harry Potter. I can hear the gasps already, it’s almost sacrilege in the book community. Now let me explain. I loved the books when they FIRST!!!! were published. Way before the shitty movies appeared. I read them and was a total potter lover, then when Order of the Phoenix came out, I had to really drive the struggle bus to finish and it went down hill from there. Then add the movies which fueled my dislike, and a Harry Potter fan no more was created.

giphy

 

A popular book or series that everyone seems to hate but you love? Fallen by Lauren Kate. I have heard so many people get down on this series. I love it. I love the darkness and the love story, the timeline jumping. Yes it does have some qualities that leave something to be desired, especially towards the end of the series but for book one. Love it!

A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with?   {SPOILER ALERT The Selection} I loved Aspen and couldn’t stand the prince….I even ranted about this in an earlier post. Now to say this, the main character America, rubbed me the wrong way halfway through book one, and by the end Aspen deserved way better then her, but I mean…yeah. Wasn’t happy.

A popular book genre that you hardly reach for? Contemporary, Im not really a fan of reading anything that takes place in the here and now. It just seems boring to me. I love either creepy paranormal or historical. Anything but keeping me in the world that I read to escape. If I want contemporary I would watch reality TV.

A popular or beloved character that you do not like? Ten years ago I would have said Bella from Twilight lol But now Elena from Vampire Diaries. I just simply can’t stand her in either the book or show. Either way both are too whiny, get themselves in sticky situations and bitch and complain about it later.

A popular author that you can’t seem to get into? Laurell K. Hamilton. Ok now this is a loaded question. I use to LOVE her!!! I was a major Anita Blake fan girl, but once she changed the whole premise of her books to erotica she lost me as a reader. I loved Anita’s morals and personality quirks (Penguins!!!)  and now her books…. she cranks them out like clockwork, they have lost all content to me and I’m just done. BUT!! I still reread the first 10 or so, still love them. Also I do love her as an author just not her business decision.

A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing? The whiny, Im always getting my ass into trouble protagonist that always ends up being the only one who can do, or accomplish something. Yes I am going to call out one of my favorite characters, Clary Fray. I love you girl but seriously, you need some cheese with that whine in the first couple books. But unlike a lot of similar characters you pull yourself together rather quickly and didn’t stay like that for long.

A popular series that you have no interest in reading ? Game of thrones. I liked the first couple seasons of the TV show, but honestly… yawn!! They killed my fav character {Khal Drogo} and my other favorite isn’t what she use to be (Cough **Khalessi).

What movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book? Bitten by Kelly Armstrong. I love the TV show and Im so sad it got cancelled!! I loved seeing the characters come to life and just bring that little bit extra to the world that I thought the books needed. Side note loved PPZ {Pride, Prejudice and Zombies} But Equal to the books.

So there you have it folks, my unpopular opinions Im out!!! lmao

giphy2

 

Leave a Reply

