November Book Haul & Wrap Up

Huston, I have lost my ever loving mind. I really need to go on a book buying ban but once again I just lost my mind…. 13 books in November. 13!?!  And none were bought on black Friday 😦 Also I generally use my own pics but thanks to the stomach flu im opting out, I look like death but damn…

So let’s get started shall we!

img_20161130_224758

 

6So Im going to start off by sharing the duology that my mom lovingly bought me, Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo. They are high fantasy YA following the character Kaz and band of misfits that an impossible heist to conquer. My take on it is its a high fantasy oceans eleven kind of deal.

 

 

tog-nyt-cover

 

Next up is Throne of Glass, Book One in the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. So another High Fantasy YA series. Most of yall probably are like, “bout time you bought that!” Im really stretching out of my reading comfort zone by reading high fantasy so yeah… I don’t even know how to summarize this so here’s the synopsis lol “In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass—and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.”

splintered-ag-howard-book-cover

 

Now this Alice retelling has been on my list for along time, Splintered by A.G Howard. Its a unqiue retelling of Alice in Wonderland, this is book one of a small series. Its a much darker version, much like the video game Alice from the 2000’s.  “Alyssa Gardner hears the whispers of bugs and flowers—precisely the affliction that landed her mother in a mental hospital years before. This family curse stretches back to her ancestor Alice Liddell, the real-life inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Alyssa might be crazy, but she manages to keep it together. For now.
When her mother’s mental health takes a turn for the worse, Alyssa learns that what she thought was fiction is based in terrifying reality. The real Wonderland is a place far darker and more twisted than Lewis Carroll ever let on. There, Alyssa must pass a series of tests, including draining an ocean of Alice’s tears, waking the slumbering tea party, and subduing a vicious bandersnatch, to fix Alice’s mistakes and save her family. She must also decide whom to trust: Jeb, her gorgeous best friend and secret crush, or the sexy but suspicious Morpheus, her guide through Wonderland, who may have dark motives of his own.”

1385501460thesebrokenstars

Now after reading The Illuminae Files Books 1 & 2, I had to pick up another sci-fi YA by Amie Kaufman. These Broken Stars is book one in the Starbound series. “It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.”

 

tsa_cover

Now all of you who have read my blog knows that I LOVE The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, so when the bind up of the shorts about the shadowhunter academy came out I had to grab it. I mean it’s about Simon Lewis…. ah Simon. And his trials becoming a shadowhunter. Plus its simply more of the Shadowhunters we all know and love.

 

 

 

 

25092754

 

Dark Horses by Cecily Von Ziegesar was actually my first purchase of the month. I am a very practiced equestrian so I had to pick up a novel that is not only the riders but the horse’s perspective. It’s a heartwarming story about healing and a bond like no other. If you like black beauty you should try out this book!

 

 

 

untitledva

 

Vampire Academy with new stories!!!!! MORE ROMITRI!!!! It’s the same story but with extra’s including Demetri meeting Rose for the first time but from his POV. Cannot Wait!!!!

 

 

 

 

scythe-book-cover-neal-shusterman

 

This is my current read, Scythe Book One of Arc of the Scythe series by Neal Schusterman. It takes place in a Utopia future where no one can die by natural means anymore so Scythe’s were created to control the population. This is the story of two young apprentices who compete to become the next scythe but only one will win and live. So far it’s an amazing read, I will have a review up as soon as I finish. If you enjoy books like The Giver by Lois Lowry, this is deff your cup of tea.

 

 

stealingsnow_rev_002

 

So this is a dark retelling of The Snow Queen, Stealing Snow by Danielle Page surrounds a girl named snow who has spent many years in a mental institution. She has a feeling she’s not crazy and it’s her story to prove it and make it back to her real identity.

 

 

 

17927395

 

Yep, I finally bought it. And nope still haven’t read the first book. This is A Court of Mist and Fury the sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses. Another High Fantasy YA story that is kind of a retelling of Beauty and the Beast but with a Faye twist.

 

 

 

 

20161130_224019

 

Excuse the crappy cell picture, this is my copy of Heartless by Marissa Meyer, If it looks funny to you it’s because it’s an Owlcrate exclusive cover and I freaking love it. It’s the story of the Queen of Hearts before she became the evil queen in Alice in Wonderland.

 

 

 

coverreveals_f15_catacomb

Last but not least Catacomb, book three of The Asylum Series. Yeah still don’t have book two but they had a sale!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

To wrap up November:  I finished Illuminae and Gemina, Books 1 & 2 of The Illuminae Files. Both of which I gave 5/5 stars. Reviews are posted go check em out, they are spoiler free. I am currently 75% finished with Scythe and will be posting that review soon. It’s amazing as well. As for my TBR for December I think I’m going to give The Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury a whack. It might be painful learning the high fantasy stuff but whatever. Also if I have time Vampire Academy 10 year edition, but Im afraid if I read anything about Rose and Demetri I will have to reread the whole series… so…. maybe I will just read A Tale as Old as Time, and keep December a Beauty and the Beast month.

Leave a Reply

