A Court of Thorns and Roses {Book Review-Spoiler Free}

acotar01

9781408857861

 

Finally I have joined the ranks of the ACOTAR lovers. It took me awhile because yet again it was a high fantasy novel, and by now yall know Im not huge into high fantasy. For those of you who were like me let me tell you a little about A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.

ACOTAR is kind of a retelling of the classic tale Beauty and the Beast in manys’ opinions.  It surrounds a poor young girl named Feyre. One day she goes out hunting to feed her starving family and she comes across a wolf and kills him, because of this act a beast captures her and says she owes him a life debt but it turns out this Beast is actually a Faerie named Tamlin. Eventually her hate an hostility towards him and his people subsides and she’s left with feelings she cannot comprehend along with a danger consuming the land and possibly Tamlin along with it.

I was hooked by the first chapter, the characters are easy to love, hate and be utterly confused about. The details are vivid and create a masterpiece in the minds eye. There are some pretty steamy interludes throughout that… yeah can you say Cold Shower anyone. It did however leave me with a few plot twists that had me utterly confused about a few characters and I hope to get those feelings sorted out in the sequel A Court of Mist and Fury. The one thing I didn’t care for in the entirety of the novel was a bit of the too real description when it came to fear. I appreciate the candid nature of it but I could have left a bit up to the imagination. Overall I loved the concept of the Fae being the advisories, their multitude of courts and powers and some very hunky High Lords. Overall fantastic read specially because I am a sucker for anything Beauty and the Beast based. I gave ACOTAR 5 out of 5 stars and cannot wait to dig into ACOMAF. Also heads up book three A Court of Wings and Ruin is due out May 2017.

It’s also fun to imagine what court you would like to live in. Me it’s deff The Night Court but I would Vacation in the Autumn Court for sure lol.

 

Leave a Reply

