Spare and Found Parts {Book Review-Spoiler Free}

spareandfound

20161228_211323Finally I have finished it, geez took me almost two weeks. Anyway my last read was Spare and Found Parts by Sarah Maria Griffin, it’s her debut novel I believe. I grabbed my copy as a total cover buy. I LOVE this cover so much!!! And then loving sci-fi, once I read the synopsis it was a done deal, had to grab and that’s where this review starts to get a little less pleasant I hate to say.  Ok so here is the blurb just so you know.

“Nell Crane has never held a boy’s hand. In a city devastated by an epidemic, where survivors are all missing parts—an arm, a leg, an eye—Nell has always been an outsider. Her father is the famed scientist who created the biomechanical limbs that everyone now uses. But she’s the only one with her machinery on the inside: her heart. Since the childhood operation, she has ticked. Like a clock, like a bomb. And as her community rebuilds, everyone is expected to contribute to the society’s good . . . but how can Nell live up to her father’s revolutionary ideas when she has none of her own? Then she finds a lost mannequin’s hand while salvaging on the beach, and inspiration strikes. Can Nell build her own companion in a world that fears advanced technology? The deeper she sinks into this plan, the more she learns about her city—and her father, who is hiding secret experiments of his own. ”

I know its probably my own fault but I thought it might be a sweet story overall about a girl who really wants a companion to understand her, and they become friends and help others understand… yeah was kinda that way but took 200+ pages in the 395 page book. So I almost never finished this book. I got to page 88 and it was just so slow and I couldn’t get hooked, the characters were meh and the point of view kept changing, constantly. Took me a week and I sat back out to try it again, got a little farther each day and began to hate the main character Nell. She was mean, abrasive, rude, inconsiderate and a brat. The only characters I did like were her “friends” who she pushed away at every turn. It wasn’t until I sloshed into the 200’s that the plot caught my attention, which is when I fell in love with her new friend. It should of had that character and the whole story sped up to that point to make it readable.

Finally I let the dark nature of the story take over and it took a classic turn but did manage to surprise me with the ending which was epic compared to the rest of the book.  I even didn’t hate Nell quite as much at the end. Overall I am glad to kept sloshing through the first 75% of the book to get to the good stuff at the end. I would say if she ever wrote a sequel I would buy it because I love the supporting characters, and her pet and to see where they have gone in life, all the while hoping it wouldn’t drag and switch pov as much. I was going to give this a one star initially but since the ending was well worth the entire read, I am giving it 3 out of 5 stars and a huge thumbs up for the ending and cover.

Leave a Reply

