December Book Haul & Wrap Up

Christmas tree lit under a fresh blanket of snow in the pre-dawn light.

 

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE! I can’t believe it is 2017, it was a crazy month but I am ready for a break from the holidays to relax, read and play a whole lot of catch up.  So in the month of December I acquired 25 books, plus a few extra from Christmas lol And my lovely husband took me out today and bought me my first book of 2017. I really need to go on a book buying ban for a few months but we all know that ain’t gonna happen. So here is my December book haul and wrap up

img_20170101_204544_297

So  a huge chunk of this haul are the rest of the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. The Prequel anthology, Assassins Blade followed by books 2-5. Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows and Empire of Storms. Which if you don’t already know are High Fantasy YA/New Adult, surrounding the master assassin Celaena Sardothian.

throneofglassset

Next up is The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo, another High Fantasy YA series set in the same world as her duology Six of Crows.  And because I cant describe what this series is about, cause haven’t read it yet, all I know is there’s a character named The Darkling… here’s the blurb. “Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Follow Alina Starkov through Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising as she discovers her dormant powers and is swept up in a world of luxury and illusion. As Alina struggles to fit into her new life, a threat to the kingdom of Ravka grows—one that will test old alliances and challenge the very limits of magic, one that will forge a leader from a frightened girl.”

grisha-trilogy-covers

I also bought alot of historical fiction this month. They range from WWII to the genocide in Lithuania, to Titanic and ancient Asian traditions.

historical-fiction

Then the last two novels in the Starbound Trilogy by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner, which is a YA sci fi trilogy.

starbound

Then here are two books I have already read and reviewed. The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh and FlashFall by Jenny Moyer. To know more about these check out my review section,

reviewed

Next are book ones in a few different series, that I managed to grab. These are a plethora of YA books, sci-fi, dark, fantasy.

book-1

 

Then I just had to grab How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mathers, I mean who wouldn’t want to read a book about the Salem witches written by a descendent of Cotton Mather’s, their original prosecutor.

27405351

 

Then I received a book from Blogging for Books/ Penguin Random House for an honest review which I am really excited about.  A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess. All I really know is it has a gorgeous cover and is a dark fantasy.

27284765

Lastly my hubby bought me a hardback SIGNED copy of A Court of Thorns and Roses  to match my hardcover version of A Court of Mist and Fury!!

9781408857861

Ok so that was my epically long December book haul, now here is my wrap up for the month of December. So my three TBR books were A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury and As Old as Time. All Beauty and the Beastish books. I definitely read all of these and checked that goal off my list.

I read technically 11 books, all spoiler free reviews are uploaded:

  • As Old as Time (3/5 stars)
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses {Read Twice in Dec 5/5 stars}
  • A Court of Mist and Fury {Read Twice in Dec 5/5 stars}
  • Scythe (5/5 stars)
  • Throne of Glass (5/5 stars)
  • FlashFall (5/5stars)
  • The Wrath & The Dawn (5/5 stars)
  • Spare and Found Parts (3/5 stars)
  • Batgirl at Superhero High (5/5 Stars)

My Current read is A Thousand Pieces of You, book 1 of the Firebird Trilogy by Claudia Gray, I am about 35% done and am loving it, I love the parallel dimensions concept and the differences between the universes. Which leads me to my January TBR picks:

january-tbr

Seems like alot but I think it’s doable, what’s on your January TBR?

Leave a Reply

