Snow Like Ashes {Book Review-Spoiler Free}

snowlikeashes

20170114_012001

First off the gorgeous cover. Does it, or does it not remind you of Xena the Warrior Princess lol

So my fifth book for the month of January was Snow like Ashes book 1 in the Snow like Ashes trilogy by Sara Raasch. It reminded me slightly of A Court of Thorns and Roses series because it has four kingdoms based on the four seasons but Sara had a wonderfully unique spin on them, also I loved that names of months were the capital cities.

Snow like Ashes is a ya fantasy trilogy that revolves around an orphan- soldier girl named Meira, along with a few other survivors of a hostile take over of their kingdom, they fight to gain back their freedom, magic and identities. This book was a wild ride with an awesome heroine who was as strong as she was sassy. I loved reading about Meira and her family of refugees. I do admit I was a bit confused the first few chapters because of the backstory jumping, but that all got sorted out rather quickly. I also love that there were massive hints of romance but that ended up taking a back seat midway through to focus more on the massive plot twists, and the ending… wow. I loved the ending! I cannot wait to read Ice like Fire (book 2) and Frost like Night (book 3) to find out what happens next.

Overall I gave this great story a 4 out of 5 stars, It was a great book just took a lil bit to really get engulfed within the pages.

 

Leave a Reply

