RoseBlood {Book Review-Spoiler Free}

roseblood-featured

20170130_041007

 

“Erik is not truly dead. He lives on within the souls of those who choose to listen to the music of the night.”
Gaston Leroux, The Phantom of the Opera   

First off The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux is one of my all time favorite stories and musicals; so this book was a must have for me once I heard the premise.

RoseBlood by A.G Howard is a standalone as far as I know that is a retelling in sorts of the beloved Leroux tale but in my opinion is much deeper and so much more than a simple retelling. It envelopes the original story weaving its own music of the night throughout it, bringing back the Phantom, Christine and the entire Opera popular to life.

Within a few pages this book reached me on an extremely personal level. The character of Rune who is seen on this amazingly gorgeous cover was described how my features have always been, pale, black hair, green eyes and freckles with an affinity to fidget just a bit. Then her heritage was so exact to mine I have never felt such a connection to a character in my whole life that I haven’t written myself which makes this book so, so dear to my heart. Then if that wasn’t enough, her background is brought to light along with a few gestures I wont give away because its spoiler free that I also used to combat my own anxiety and issues which were extremely similar to hers with her father. So needless to say not even 15 pages in I was crying ugly tears.

If the massive impact on my soul wasn’t enough I fell in love with the other main characters and animals. The animals ,oh my,  I want to hang out with them so bad, they are so fun and brilliant. Then when you’re introduced to Thorn, I immediately fell in love with him and was so intrigued by him just as I was Eric when I first read Leroux’s. Her entire take and major plot twists combined with the extensive magical details truly brought this tale to life. I could hear the music as I read and never wanted it to stop. This is a masterpiece in my opinion and I can honestly say it’s one, if not my all time favorite novels of all time.

She didn’t retell The Phantom she continued on in Leroux’s majestic footsteps bringing this sequel if you will to life and creating a story I will cherish till the end of my days. It was my most anticipated read of 2017 and it surly didn’t let me down.  If I could, I would give this all the stars in the sky but because it’s all I can, 5 out of 5!!!!!!

Thank you A.G Howard for creating such a whimsical masterpiece, now I have to go and buy the Barnes and Noble edition as well just for the extra pages which are Christine’s Letters. Also everything about this book down to the red wording is gorgeous.

“If I am the phantom, it is because man’s hatred has made me so. If I am to be saved it is because your love redeems me.”
Gaston Leroux, The Phantom of the Opera   

 

Leave a Reply

